Lunatic – about the book

FANFARE PRESENTS
Ninth Art Press
LUNATIC
a wordless story by
Dan Mazur

Lunatic is an unusual and striking graphic novel , a wordless book in the tradition of Frans Masereel, and Lynd Ward. Part fable, part classic adventure in the tradition of Jules Verne, H. G. Wells and Méliès, the tale is told in nearly 200 full-page, wordless images in a variety of media from pencil, pen and ink, ink wash and paint that lovingly evoke the artistic styles of its period setting.

Chapter 1, page 1-2 spread (conte crayon with white gouache & india ink)

The word “lunatic” derives from Latin, meaning “of the moon”, or “moonstruck,” and in this sense it describes the protagonist of this story: from infancy she develops a magical, almost intimate relationship with the moon itself, a celestial being who acts as her friend, lover, mentor. Our heroine is a dreamer, an outsider, never feeling like she quite belongs to this world. We follow her through the stages of life, infancy, childhood, youth and adulthood, at each point guided by the moon toward a fateful journey and an unexpected destiny. A timeless and charming story of longing, loneliness and the pursuit of dreams.

Chapter 2, page 6 (nib pen, india ink, ink washes)



“…nicely understated and mesmerising, I’ll be re-reading it!”
Paul Gravett, author, Graphic Novels: Stories to Change Your Life

Chapter 2 page 14 (nib pen, india ink, ink washes)


Chapter 3, page 8 (nib pen and india ink)

Chapter 4, page 2 (pencil and ink washes)
Chapter 4, pages 4-5 spread (pencil and ink washes)

Chapter 4, page 5 (pencil and ink washes)

Read about the process of making “Lunatic”

200 Pages, 9.25 x 7.5 Cloth, $20.00 (US $20.00) (CA $27.00)
Publication Date: December 2020 ISBN 9780993211225

ORDER LUNATIC: